S+L logo
Past World Youth Days
“I am the servant of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.” ~ (Lk. 1:38)


DATE : JANUARY 22 – 27, 2019


S+L LIVE BROADCASTING PLAYER



TV Schedule

The schedule is subject to change

WORLD YOUTH DAY

APOSTOLIC JOURNEY OF POPE FRANCIS TO PANAMA

Perspectives Daily (Extended Edition)

Monday, January 21 - Thursday, January 24
7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT

Friday, January 25
7:30pm ET / 4:30pm PT

LIVE WYD Papal Welcome Ceremony

Thursday, January 24
4:30pm ET / 1:30pm PT
Repeat: 12:00am ET / 9:00pm PT

LIVE WYD Way of the Cross

Friday, January 25
5:00pm ET / 2pm PT
Repeat: 10:00pm ET / 7:00pm PT

LIVE WYD Vigil

Saturday, January 26
5:40pm ET / 2:40pm PT
Repeat: 12:20am ET / 9:20pm PT

LIVE WYD Final Mass

Sunday, January 27
7:00am ET / 4:00am PT
Repeat: 9:00pm & 1:00am ET / 6:00pm & 10:00pm PT

LIVEPresidential palace, Welcome Ceremony, Visit with President

Thursday, January 24
9:45am ET / 6:45am PT

LIVEMeeting with Authorities, the Civil Society, Diplomatic Corps

Thursday, January 24
10:40amET / 7:40amPT

LIVEMeeting with the Central American Bishops

Thursday, January 24
11:15amET / 8:15amPT

LIVEPenitential Liturgy with Young Detainees

Friday, January 25
10:30amET / 7:30amPT

LIVEHoly Mass with Priests, Consecrated Persons

Saturday, January 26
9:00amET / 6:00amPT

LIVEVisit to the Casa Hogar del Buen Samaritano and Angelus

Sunday, January 27
10:45amET / 7:45amPT

LIVEWorld Youth Day: Meeting with WYD Volunteers

Sunday, January 27
4:10pmET / 1:10pmPT

LATEST NEWS, EVENTS AND VIDEOS

World Youth Day Panama is taking place this week, and today we begin our coverage here on Perspectives Daily. As we try to get to know the event’s host country, Deacon Pedro offers a reflection on t ...read more
WYD Panama 2019: When to Watch <strong>***UPDATED***</strong>
FacebookTwitter
S+L will be broadcasting events from WYD in Panama LIVE on our television network and on our WYD Central website. Check out the schedule here! ...read more
In preparation for WYD Panama 2019, read this interview with Archbishop José Domingo Ulloa of Panama City on his experience of the church in Panama. ...read more
WYD Panama: How a small, lay, missionary, and poor church will evangelize the universal Church
FacebookTwitter
Deacon Pedro offers his perspective on the evangelical potential of Panama as World Youth Day is about to begin in the tiny Central American country. ...read more
Deacon-structing the Twelve Days of Christmas
FacebookTwitter
As we approach the final days of the Christmas season, Deacon Pedro explores the "12 Days of Christmas" and presents an intriguing Panamanian version in honour of WYD 2019. ...read more

VIDEOS









OFFICIAL LOGO

Heart-shaped letter “M”

The M stands for "Mary", and the heart represents her great motherly love for us.

Mary at the center of the logo

The silhouette represents Mary’s tenderness when she conceived baby Jesus.

Place

It represents the shape of the Isthmus of Panama.

The Way

Mary is the way to meet Jesus and Panama will be the way to meet Him in 2019.

5 Continents

The small white dots over Mary symbolize her crown & represent pilgrims from 5 continents.

The Pilgrim Cross

Symbol of World Youth Day established by Saint John Paul II.

PRAYER FOR WYD PANAMA 2019


Merciful Father, You call us to live our lives as a way of salvation. Help us to recall the past with gratitude, to embrace the present with courage, and to build the future with hope.

Lord Jesus, our friend and brother, thank you for looking upon us with love. Let us listen to your voice as it resonates in the hearts of each one with the light and strength of the Holy Spirit.

Grant us the grace to be a Church that goes forth with vibrant faith and a youthful face to announce the joy of the Gospel. May we help to build the society we long for, full of justice and fraternal love.

We pray for the Pope and the bishops, for priests and deacons, for those in consecrated life, for volunteers, for young people, and all who will participate in the upcoming World Youth Day in Panama, and for those who are preparing to receive them.

Our Lady of Antigua, Patroness of Panama, help us to pray and live generously like you: “I am the servant of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word” (Lk 1:38).

Amen.